Sacrament – August 30th

Sally Archambault Speaking of God - Volume Two

If you were to ask how many sacraments there are or just what makes a particular action a sacrament, you are likely to get more than one answer.


The Roman and Orthodox Catholic Churches recognize seven sacraments:  baptism, confirmation, the Eucharist, penance, anointing of the sick, ordination, and matrimony.  Most Protestants denominations recognize just baptism and the Eucharist.

The Anglican Book of Common Prayer says:

The sacraments are outward and visible signs of inward and spiritual grace, given by Christ as sure and certain means by which we receive that grace.

I was baptized as a twelve-year-old confirmand, and it was a moving experience for me.  That was once.  Holy Communion is a renewable sacrament.

Sacra-ment:  a sacred  moment at which I am intensely aware of my connection with God and the Christian community.

There are words that open the door and place me exactly where I need to be for the sacred experience:

On the night that he was betrayed, Jesus met in an upper room with his friends.

He took bread, blessed it, broke it, gave it to his disciples and said,

“This is my body which is given for you. . . . 

At that moment I am surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses, intimately connected to the faithful  saints who have gone before us and to the community around the table with me that day.

And, as much as I can know anything, I know that it was Jesus’ desire for his followers to often take the bread and wine together, in remembrance of him.



Michael Herzog

Please follow and like us: